What is going on in Herr Weiss' class?

Lets begin with the past tense of sein which in English means to be

Pronouns to be to be (past) Pronomen sein sein (past)
I am was ich bin war
you are were du bist warst
he, she, it is was er, sie, es ist war
we are were wir sind waren
you are were ihr seid wart
they are were sie, Sie sind waren

As you can see from this chart the form of sein in the past is a form of waren

Here are some examples of how it works:

Ich bin alt aber ich war jung. – I am old but I was young.

Ich war im Kino. – I was at the movie.

Ich war in der Park – I was in the park.

Here is a video of a native German slowly teaching how to conjugate the past tense of sein.

This is the simplest way of making past.  Now for some comics illustrating this!

"Now I know where I know you from, your picture is on the milk carton!" "Oh please, I was a calf and needed the money!"

"Now I know where I know you from, your picture is on the milk carton!" "Oh please, I was a calf and needed the money!"

"We were overburdened with twin! We couldn't tell you apart! We had no choice we had to put one of you in a chicken costume!" "This is a costume!?!?!?!"

Online Exercises

Working with WAREN

Leave a Reply

